The District Grand Council of the West Midlands
The District Grand Council of the West Midlands 

History and Origin of the Order


The Grand Council of the Allied Masonic Degrees was formed in 1879 to bring under its direction all lodges of various orders who recognised no central authority and were not regulated by the other major governing bodies.


Initially the degrees of Grand High Priest, St Lawrence the Martyr, The Red Cross of Babylon and Knights of Constantinople placed themselves under the control of this body and by 1897 the degrees of Grand Tilers of Solomon, one degree of the Secret Monitor and the order of Holy Wisdom (Knight Templar Priest grades) had also been included.


Eventually, however, in 1923 a Grand College of Holy Royal Arch Knight Templar Priests for England was erected at Newcastle and the Grand Council accordingly disclaimed control of this large group of degrees. Following this in 1931 the Grand Council of Allied Masonic Degrees agreed to cease working their single degree of the Secret Monitor and so today private Councils of the Order are empowered to work the degrees of :


St Lawrence the Martyr

Knight of Constantinople

Grand Tilers of Solomon

Red Cross of Babylon

Grand High Priest


In 1972 the title of this body was changed to the Grand Council of the Order of the Allied Masonic Degrees and today there are in excess of 200 Councils ranged under its banner.


Structure and Qualification


In a Council of Allied Masonic Degrees we find that the office structure varies from degree to degree. The degree of St Lawrence the Martyr is that in which all administrative work is carried out, candidates are admitted to the Order and the Installation of the Worshipful Master takes place.

Print Print | Sitemap
© Allied Masonic Degrees - West Midlands